SRC ‘End of Year’ report 2015

Sudbury Rowing Club celebrated a very successful year – 46 wins in total – at their Annual Dinner, which marked the end of the Regatta racing season.

Each year various trophies are awarded to club members for commitment, devotion, achievements and success.

Junior Award – Girls Junior 18 coxed four – Henley crew – Ellie Adams, Victoria Burgess, Amy Bowles, Zoe McGee, Molly Shaw, Lucy Keedy-Davies (cox)
Stour Shield – David Wasse
The Andrew Foster Memorial Trophy – Tom Bowles
Most Improved Rower – Harriett Brownell
Senior Award – The Mens Brittania Cup crew of Sam Hogsbjerg, James Brownell, Sam Cooper, James Woodward and Harriett Brownell (cox)
The Sainsburys Trophy for Best in Regatta – Amelia Moule

The Head racing season now takes us through the winter months along with intensive training in preparation for next years Regatta season.

The club also held their Annual General Meeting this week with outgoing Captain Keith Paxman handing over to Jeremy Milbank.

As part of Sudbury Rowing Clubs winter training plan, they held their first Rowathlon. Tim Hysom organised the event which included a 1000 metre row on the ergometer, 10K cycle and 5K run. Eleven members entered the event including four of the junior members.

The quickest on the day was junior Nick Scott, who finished in a time of 46.55, followed by Sean Moriaty in 48.16 and Paul Adams in 52.08.

The next event for Sudbury Rowing Club will be next weekend at the Norfolk Sculls event where a number of scullers will be in action.

Susie Moule