Cambridge Winter Head

Sudbury Rowing Club competed at the Cambridge Winter Head, racing over a distance of 2500 metres.

Weather conditions were dry but breezy and the course had some challenging bends, especially for the coxless crews.

The club had three triumphant crews on the day – the first being the Women’s Junior 17 coxed quad of Martha Bullen, Freya Evans, Helena Griffiths, Jemima Savage and Amelia Moule (cox) who won their event in a time of 11.33.

In the Women’s Junior 18 coxless quad were Amelia Moule, Tilly Barnard, Freya Evans and Amelia Maskell who also won their event in a time of 10.53.

The crew swapped Freya Evans for Martha Bullen to then compete in the Women’s Intermediate coxless quad category, winning again in a time of 10.35.

Harry Moule was also successful on the day by coxing a crew from Essex University to victory.

Other Sudbury crews to race included a Men’s coxed four of Henry Tullin, Byron Bullen, Sam McLoughlin, Gareth Moriarty and Harry Moule (cox), who finished third in their category in 10.35.

The same same crew also raced in the Men’s coxless quads category, finishing second in a time of 9.48.

The Men’s coxed four of Paul Adams, Mike Arnott, Tim Hysom, Stephen Nichols and Helen Sharp (cox) finished in a time of 10.04, second in the Masters event. They raced again in the Men’s Intermediate category finishing third in a time of 10.36.

The Women’s coxless quad of Jen Ward, Linda Newbigging, Tricia Fincham and Mary-Jane Budd finished in a time of 11.59.

The next event will be the Scullers Head of the River Race on the Thames, followed by the British Rowing Indoor Championships.

Club members will then have some festive fun at their own Pudding Races – scratch racing in Christmas fancy dress, followed by seasonal refreshments.

Susie Moule.

Amelia Moule, Tilly Barnard, Freya Evans, Amelia Maskell.

Jemima Savage, Helena Griffiths, Freya Evans, Martha Bullen, Amelia Moule (cox)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.